Sunny and Whiskey Machine – Live!

6:00 pm

January 31, 2018

Sunny & The Whiskey Machine is the perfect blend of blues, alt-country, bluegrass, rock n roll, and a whole lot of soul. Consisting of a core trio with each member playing multiple instruments, they exude a distinct sound lovingly dubbed “soulgrass” by their fans. As you weave your way through their musical landscape, you never know what’s coming next; from soaring harmonies of almost a capella songs to blunt, in your face diatribes to the world, you’re never bored when they take the stage.

The Whiskey Machine came together in early 2017 after it’s members played together in many musical projects in and around Durango, Colorado, and found the simplicity of the trio compelling. Sunny Gable fronts the band, writes the songs and provides not only powerful vocals, but words and stories that actually make you think, all while keeping your toes tapping with the mandolin, guitar, and fiddle. Guy Ewing heads up harmonies and holds down the beat on electric and upright bass, while Jeff Moorehead fills your ears with tasty dobro work and an occasional stint on guitar.

Bryant Liggett of DGO and KDUR has this to say in a recent article published on July 13th, 2017:

“[Sunny’s] quickly joining the ranks of some of the area’s best songwriters. The stories found within her songs are colorful and sordid tales of love, sadness, and going from having everything to having nothing. All of this is brought to life via characters as real as your friends and enemies, along with rural references of gritty and scrambling living, what Gable refers to as the “Broke-ass dream.” Songs that make casual mention of methamphetamine, whiskey, and old cars certainly can bring a laugh, but there’s a beauty in the simple reality.”

They’ve performed throughout Colorado and New Mexico and have had multiple radio appearances including a live session on “The Rezbilly Breakdown” at KDUR in Durango. They recently performed at Meltdown on the Mesa, a festival hosted by the Durango Bluegrass Meltdown. The trio released their first EP in September 2017 and they are in the process of recording their first feature-length album.